New users: Please register in the usual way and then send an email to jasper(at)jasperfforde.com with your username, and write something 'Ffordesque' so we know you are a real reader, and not some idiot trying to flood the forum with dodgy Nike and Gucci gear. Thank you - Jasper

Still having trouble? Click Here for a guide to the Fforde Fforum

last updated : April 11th 2010

Nextian Chat :  www.jasperfforde.com The fastest message board... ever.
General Information 
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Times when you go "Aaarrrgh!!!"
Posted by: Jazz_Sue (---.bb.sky.com)
Date: May 15, 2009 10:40AM

You probably haven't noticed, but I've been absent for a while. Reason being - I got me a job. Well, okay, I was working before - sort of - but when I get home I now get paid for writing articles for websites.

Now this takes me a bit of time, because I'm expected to write about subjects for which I have NO knowledge whatsoever, and I can't just copy and paste - it's all got to be original. I got the job cos I put 'biology/medical' down on my application form.

I've been given a job writing about ... RC Helicopters.

About which - da di da.

I now know more about collective pitch, cyclic roll and days of yaw than anyone has a right to know, but as you can imagine it was a VERY steep learning curve - vertical with a horizontal overhang, just about where your crampons go for a burton. Still, I'm onto 'teach 'em everything about rotors' now, which is an improvement from 'um - don't buy your RC heli from a pound shop? I think?' which is where I started out.

Last night, I was researching the exciting world of flybars on Google. Straight away I hit on a really exciting article that told me everything I needed to know, except - Oy! This is MY page! Someone's been given my articles to write ... oh, hang on. This IS my art ...

Yep, I'd found my own work.

And I'd forgotten I'd done it.