New users: Please register in the usual way and then send an email to jasper(at)jasperfforde.com with your username, and write something 'Ffordesque' so we know you are a real reader, and not some idiot trying to flood the forum with dodgy Nike and Gucci gear. Thank you - Jasper

Still having trouble? Click Here for a guide to the Fforde Fforum

last updated : April 11th 2010

The Eyre Affair :  www.jasperfforde.com The fastest message board... ever.
Posts relating to TN-1 
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Postmodern?
Posted by: Anonymous User (---.carlnfd1.nsw.optusnet.com.au)
Date: October 05, 2004 02:40PM

Hello all,
it sounds cliche, and I'm not one to follow conventions happily, but I think it must be explained.... I'm new to this, and the book actually. I'm from Australia and in my last year of High School.
As such, I'm hoping somone can help with some opinions....

We're studying the elective of "Postmodernism", and all those who have encountered the word know how difficult it can be to understand and define. I want to use "The Eyre Affair" as a related text for my HSC exam on the topic but have so far only been able to say a very limited amount about it.

If anyone can help me identify more postmodern techniques, that would be much appreciated. If you'd rather I first list what I know, I'd be glad to do so, I'm just hoping somone can expand on those things.

Please help me if possible....

But thanks anyway, even if you just read this hopeless rant and decided to ignore it.

Re: Postmodern?
Posted by: Anonymous User (---.server.ntli.net)
Date: December 14, 2004 02:09AM

right postmodernism

postmodernism can be characterised by an eclectic approach, and a liking for parody and pastiche.

fragmentation of the text is a relief from the constricts of regular texts.