New users: Please register in the usual way and then send an email to jasper(at)jasperfforde.com with your username, and write something 'Ffordesque' so we know you are a real reader, and not some idiot trying to flood the forum with dodgy Nike and Gucci gear. Thank you - Jasper

Still having trouble? Click Here for a guide to the Fforde Fforum

last updated : April 11th 2010

Nextian Chat :  www.jasperfforde.com The fastest message board... ever.
General Information 
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Goto Page: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
HELP NEEDED.
Posted by: Anonymous User (---.sunsh7.vic.optusnet.com.au)
Date: August 31, 2007 01:14AM

hi.
im currently studying drama in year 12 and as part of my solo performance i have to explore the links betewen "jack and jill" quangtech and the french revolution.

does anyone have any ideas as to how the french revolution and quangtech might be linked?

Re: HELP NEEDED.
Posted by: Bonzai Kitten (58.163.128.---)
Date: August 31, 2007 01:38AM

How random can the connections be?

Personally, I'd focus on hats- and jobs that are defined by their hats (or crowns) to the point where the hat is the focus of power, at the expense of the person wearing it (ie, the crown as a symbol being overthrown, and incidentally chopping off the aristo's heads, which happen to be wearing them)

"On the top of the Crumpetty Tree
The Quangle Wangle sat,
But his face you could not see,
On account of his Beaver Hat."

The poem of course, has a much nicer outcome than the revolution. The Quangle Wangles hat becomes the basis of a community rather than the reverse. Of course, this is an incredibly lacking in detail, what with it being an unplanned response.

I suggest several weeks obsessing about nursery rhymes and the revolution (however dubious the connections!) and then throw in a few fish puns.

[www.nonsenselit.org]
[www.rhymes.org.uk]
[www.jasperfforde.com]

Posted by: Shakespeare (---.socal.res.rr.com)